Languages: English Italiano

EMILIE AUTUMN is back with Fight like a Girl !!!
Audioglobe & The Asylum Emporium presentano:
EMILIE AUTUMN – Fight like a Girl digiCD
out 29-10
The American singer-songwriter, poet, and violinist, bestselling artist with Audioglobe Exports for three Years in a row (Opheliac, 2006, 2007, 2008) is finally back with an all new, full-length Album. First announced in early 2012 and accompanied by a 44 dates Tour through USA, the UK and continental Europe, F.L.A.G. has seen a number of heavy delays due to her continuous touring and various other circumstances.

F.L.A.G. comes in a sexy Digipak, clear tray and with a beautiful 4 colour print booklet, with all 12 pages made to look like old paper with tea stains and containing all the lyrics to the songs

Beautiful, bizarre, and brazen sonic seductress EMILIE AUTUMN wants you to fight alongside her on this much overdue and eagerly expected follow-up album to her groundbreaking debut, "Opheliac". On F.L.A.G. she elegantly strikes that effervescent balance between sex, violence, and English literature. Part Broadway, part burlesque, part rock, part history lesson, there's nothing quite like it anywhere… On the track ‘Fight Like a Girl’, which both is the opener for the new album and gave the album its name, Emilie comments: "The song kicks off the record, and it's about women realizing that they are in fact 51% of the population, and learning how to take back their power. In the story, the inmates of a Victorian insane asylum for girls break free and go on a rampage against the doctors who terrorized them. For me, 'Fight Like a Girl' means to fight like the ultimate badass you are. It's time to take back the words and phrases that are used to ridicule girls and insult boys and transform them into sources of power!...”

Are you ready to join EMILIE in this FIGHT?

1. Fight Like A Girl
2. Time for Tea
3. 4 O'Clock Reprise
4. What will I remember?
5. Take the Pill
6. Girls! Girls! Girls!
7. I don't understand
8. We want them Young
9. If I burn
10. Scavenger
11. Gaslight
12. The Key
13. Hell is empty
14. Gaslight Reprise
15. Goodnight, Sweet Ladies
16. Start another Story
17. One Foot in Front of the Other

Some praise for F.L.A.G.
‘Fight Like A Girl’ is a call to arms. Chances are, each person will take something different from it. As Emilie remarks at her live shows, no 2 people in attendance really look alike, and the same can be said for what each listener will leave this album with. Ultimately, it is theatrical, epic, empower- ing, scary, depressing, catchy, accessible, and most importantly, brilliant. Rating 9 out of 10
“Fight Like a Girl” (FLAG) is an album that not only continues on the same line of “Opheliac” in terms of melancholy, but actually devotes itself to the subject of mental illnesses. In a world where crap like “American Idiot” and “Mamma Mia” ended up as soldout shows, FLAG is a breath of fresh air. Rating - 4,5 out of 5

The Sonic Reverie:
'Fight Like A Girl' may be a collection that succeed as individual tracks but it's amongst one another that they truly blossom and work with and against one another to produce the impressive third output from Autumn.
Fight Like A Girl, often shortened to FLAG, a beautifully poetic coincidence highlighting the album‘s aim to call women to action under one banner (…) offers a sound that is theatrical and orchestral, brooding and electronic. The album‘s opener begins with the ticking of a clock, the rattling of bars and a screaming siren-like violin, setting the scene – we are in The Asylum now – then launches into an extremely catchy synth bassline with some pompy, campy strings. The album is incredibly theatrical and lets us know that someone is on our side, and not just anyone, but the talented, lovely, flawed icon Emilie Autumn. Nowhere is this more artfully illustrated than in “The Key”, perhaps the most musical of all the tracks. In it she obtains the key that had been the symbol of her captivity and uses it to free herself – an apt reflection of the overall message of Fight Like A Girl: reclaim the power that has been stolen from you and use it to escape from the limitations society imposes on you!

Related Link
» EMILIE AUTUMN in store
« | Back